The Ordeals of Sherlock Holmes

Production details

  • Format
  • 4 × 60 min audio plays
  • Production company
  • Big Finish Productions
  • Recording studio
  • Audio Sorcery
  • Date recorded
  • 12, 13, 18 & 19 Mar 2013
  • Date released
  • December 2013
  • Written by
  • Jonathan Barnes
  • Directed by
  • Ken Bentley
  • Sound design
  • Martin Montague
  • Music
  • Howard Carter
  • Producers
  • Ken Bentley
  • Nicholas Briggs
  • Executive producers
  • Jason Haigh-Ellery
  • Nicholas Briggs
  • Cover art
  • Mark Plastow


  • Sherlock Holmes
  • Nicholas Briggs
  • Dr John Watson
  • Richard Earl
  • Guttering Candle
  • Inspector Lestrade
  • John Banks
  • Constable Wherry
  • Derek Carlyle
  • Christopher Thrale
  • Blake Ritson
  • Winchester Bartley-Gower
  • Michael Cochrane
  • The Gracious Adelina
  • Eve Karpf
  • Eliza Hinderclay
  • Amy Ewbank
  • Gamekeeper’s Folly
  • Jim Hinderclay
  • Ken Bones
  • Eliza Hinderclay
  • Amy Ewbank
  • Mrs Chaunt Maclise
  • Eve Karpf
  • Bermondsey Cutthroats
  • Winchester Bartley-Gower
  • Michael Cochrane
  • Tess Dorno
  • Caroline Keiff
  • Inspector Lestrade
  • John Banks
  • Inspector Wherry
  • Derek Carlyle
  • Mrs Hope
  • Eve Karpf
  • Sowers of Despair
  • Mrs Edgar Curbishley
  • Tracey Childs
  • Griesser
  • Marek Oravec
  • Tlitzlmann Blench
  • Andrew Fettes
  • Judy
  • Amy Ewbank


The first in an epic trilogy of adventures featuring the great detective.

From the plains of Afghanistan to the alleyways of Victorian London, from the dark heart of the English countryside to the ruin of Europe after the Great War, join Sherlock Holmes and Dr John Watson in a quartet of astonishing new investigations which span their lifelong friendship – and beyond.

Nicholas Briggs, Jonathan Barnes, Richard Earl.

The Guttering Candle

London, 1880. When a corpse is dragged from the Thames, a neophyte detective named Sherlock Holmes introduces himself to the official police force. Inspector Lestrade has his theories but Holmes has radical ideas of his own.

Meanwhile, the freshly-qulified Dr Watson has been posted to Afghanistan. Striving to save lives against the carnage of a disastrous military campaign, he chances across a strange secret in the desert.

The Adventure of the Gamekeeper’s Folly

It is 1895. Sherlock Holmes has lately returned from his apparent death at the Reichenbach Falls. Back in his element again, he is relishing his old life once more. But in the smiling English countryside, something waits for Holmes and Watson, something which has blighted the life of an innocent family, which has designs upon a wider canvas and which one of the visitors knows of old...

The Adventure of the Bermondsey Cutthroats

For too long, the facts surrounding the retirement from public life of Mr Sherlock Holmes have been suppressed. What sequence of events can possibly have been so terrible and so momentous as to oust from his place at the heart of the Empire the greatest investigative mind of his generation?

Now, at last, the truth can be told.

The Sowers of Despair

It is 1919. The Great War is over, Sherlock Holmes is long retired and Dr Watson has settled into a new and happy marriage.

That is, until the former detective spies something out of kilter in the pages of a London newspaper. Calling on Watson and enlisting his aid, Holmes travels to a fledgling state in post-war Europe, where he means to confront a familiar enemy and settle an old score.


All releases in this series