Doctor Who: The Foe from the Future

Production details

  • Format
  • 180 min audio play
  • Production company
  • Big Finish Productions
  • Recording studio
  • The Moat Studios
  • Dates recorded
  • 5, 6, & 7 September 2011
  • Date released
  • October 2011
  • Written by
  • Robert Banks Stewart
  • Adapted by
  • John Dorney
  • Directed by
  • Ken Bentley
  • Sound design & music
  • Howard Carter
  • Producer
  • David Richardson
  • Executive producers
  • Jason Haigh-Ellery
  • Nicholas Briggs
  • Cover art
  • Alex Mallinson


  • The Doctor
  • Tom Baker
  • Leela
  • Louise Jameson
  • Jalnik
  • Paul Freeman
  • Charlotte
  • Louise Brealey
  • Instructor Shibac
  • Blake Ritson
  • Constable Burrows
  • Mark Goldthorp
  • Father Harpin
  • Philip Pope
  • Supreme Councillor Geflo
  • Jaimi Barbakoff
  • Historiographer Osin
  • Dan Starkey
  • Councillor Kostal
  • Camilla Power


The Fourth Doctor box set contains two stories, The Valley of Death and The Foe from the Future.

The Fourth Doctor box set was voted No.1 Big Finish audio play of 2012 by readers of Doctor Who Magazine

The Grange is haunted, so they say. This stately home in the depths of Devon has been the site of many an apparition. And now people are turning up dead. The ghosts are wild in the forest. But the Doctor doesn’t believe in ghosts.

The TARDIS follows a twist in the vortex to the village of Staffham in 1977 and discovers something is very wrong with time. But spectral highwaymen and cavaliers are the least of the Doctor’s worries.

For the Grange is owned by the sinister Jalnik, and Jalnik has a scheme two thousand years in the making. Only the Doctor and Leela stand between him and the destruction of history itself. It’s the biggest adventure of their lives – but do they have the time?